Home > Activities > Internationalization > International agreements

International agreements

List of international agreements signed by ANVUR

In accordance with its own legislation (d.p.r. 76/2010, art. 2 paragraph 3), ANVUR cooperates with both international and European Union bodies, as well as agencies and bodies working internationally in the field of quality assurance in higher education and research.

Below are listed the collaborations started so far:

The Hellenic Authority for Higher Education (HAHE), established in 2020 as the successor to Greece’s Quality Assurance and Accreditation Agency (operating since 2006), is the independent authority responsible for ensuring the quality of the Greek higher education system. The cooperation agreement between the agencies was officially signed on 14/11/2023.
Simbolo ESU The European Students’ Union (ESU) is the association that brings togheter more than 45 student representatives assosiactions from 40 European countries. On July, 18th, 2023, a Memorandum of Understanding has been signed, aimed to involve european students in quality assurance evaluations of ANVUR.
Logo MAB MAB (Hungarian Accreditation Committee) is the national-level, independent body of experts tasked with the external evaluation of the quality of educational and related research activities and the internal quality assurance (QA) systems of higher education institutions in Hungary. The Cooperation Agreement was signed by the parties on May 18th, 2023; the collaboration between the two Agencies is further strengthened by the Strategic Planning Board dell’Hungarian Accreditation Committee (MAB) of Professor Marilena Maniaci, member of the Governing Board of ANVUR.
ANQA (National Centre for Professional Education Quality Assurance Foundation) is the Armenian External Quality Assurance Agency, which is responsible to stimulate tertiary level institutions to develop, disseminate and improve the quality culture. ANQA is also responsible for managing the Stare Accreditation Register. The Cooperation Agreement was signed between the parties in the framework of the ENQA members’ Forum, which took place in Tbilisi (Georgia) from 20 to 21 April 2023.
ANECA (Agencia Nacional de Evaluacion de la Calidad y Acreditacion) is an autonomous body attached to the Ministry of Science, Innovation, and Universities which aims to contribute to the improvement of the quality of the higher education system through the evaluation, certification, and accreditation of teaching, teachers, and institutions. The Cooperation Agreement was signed by the parties on January, 18th, 2023.
The Fundación para el Conocimiento madri+d is an agency promoted by the Regional Government of Madrid, founded in 2002, whose main objectives are to help make the quality of higher education, science, technology, and innovation key elements of the competitiveness and well-being of citizens. Madre+d is a full member of ENQA and is registered in the European Register of EQAR Agencies. The Cooperation Agreement was signed by the parties on November 17th, 2022.
ASCAL (Agjencia e Sigurimit të Cilësisë në Arsimin e Lartë) is the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education in Albania, which is responsible for the ex ante assessment of the quality of HEIs, their units and curricula of all three cycles under their licences, and for the external evaluation of institutional accreditation and study programmes. The Agency also conducts analytical and comparative assessments for higher education institutions, programmes and fields of study. The Cooperation Agreement with the Albanian agency was signed on November 10th, 2022.
The Agency’s participation in the Coalition for Advancing Research Assessment (CoARA) is another element that testifies to the Agency’s strong will to actively participate in international initiatives on a central theme of its activity. The decision, taken by the Governing Board of ANVUR at its meeting on October 3rd, 2022, represents a starting point for the activities that the Agency will have to develop for the definition of common rules at the international level starting from this policy document. On 1 December 2022, at the first meeting of the Coalition for Advancing Research Assessment (CoARA), Prof. Menico Rizzi, member of the Governing Board of ANVUR, was elected as a member of the Steering Board as a representative of the Agency.
HCÉRES (Haut Conseil de l’évaluation de la recherche et de l’enseignement supérieur) is an independent French administrative authority whose mandate is to evaluate higher education and research institutions, groups and laboratories of French and foreign researchers. On October 7th, 2022, the Cooperation Agreement between ANVUR and HCÉRES was renewed; the collaboration between the two Agencies is further strengthened by the participation in the Governing Board of HCÉRES of Professor Marilena Maniaci, member of the Governing Board of ANVUR.
ACQAHE (AKOKVO – Agencija za kontrolu i obezbjeđenje kvaliteta) is Montenegro’s leading state body for external quality assurance in the field of Montenegrin higher education. The main task of ACQAHE is to manage the evaluation and certification process of higher education institutions and curricula in line with the European standards and guidelines for quality assurance in the European Higher Education Area (ESG). The cooperation agreement with the Montenegrin agency was signed on June 22nd, 2022.
CONEAU (Comisión Nacional de Evaluación y Acreditación Universitaria) is a decentralised body operating under the jurisdiction of the Argentine National Ministry of Education, whose institutional mission is to ensure and improve the quality of university institutions operating in the Argentinian university system, through evaluation and accreditation of the quality of university education. The Cooperation Agreement with CONEAU was adopted by AANVUR’s Governing Board Resolution No. 268 of December 6th, 2021.
SUNEDU (Superintendencia Nacional de Educación Superior Universitaria) is the Body of the Republic of Peru with the task of ensuring and promoting the quality of the Peruvian university system, carrying out evaluation and accreditation activities and encouraging the exchange of experiences with other university systems. The Cooperation Agreement with SUNEDU was adopted by ANVUR’s Governing Board Resolution No. 188 of August 5th, 2021.
ACPUA (Agencia de Calidad y Prospectiva Universitaria de Aragón) is the official agency for the evaluation of higher education in the Autonomous Community of Aragon (Spain). ACPUA is a full member of ENQA and is registered in the European Register of EQAR Agencies. Its main purpose is to guarantee and promote the quality of the Aragonese university system, carrying out technical tasks of evaluation, certification, and accreditation of the quality of higher education in Aragon. The Cooperation Agreement with ACPUA was adopted by the ANVUR’s Governing Board Resolution No. 117 of May 25th, 2021.
AVEPRO is the Agency of the Holy See for the evaluation and promotion of the quality of ecclesiastical universities and faculties, whose task is to promote and develop a culture of quality within the academic institutions directly dependent on the Holy See and to assure them of internationally valid qualitative criteria. The collaboration between ANVUR and AVEPRO, regulated by a Cooperation Agreement signed on May 11th, 2021, is strengthened by the participation in the Governing Board of AVEPRO of the President of ANVUR, prof. Antonio Felice Uricchio.